Summer is the season for beer! Warm nights, BBQs, fire pits, vegan smores.. and there's nothing like a cold beer to tie it all together. I'm not really a drinker. I have one beer and I'm tipsy, two and I'm on my fave sleeping. But, I wanted options for all the BBQs and parties I may be attending during the summer. Like wine, not all beers are vegan. I know you're thinking, how? Beers main ingredients are water, barley, hops, and yeast. Beers can be filtered just like wine can. Filtering makes the beer clear. Filtering can be done using isinglass (fish bladders), egg albumen, gelatin, and other nasty non-vegetarian and non-vegan ingredients. But, vegetarians and vegans still like beer! So, I reached out to a few companies to get some updated info before I cracked a cold one.
Just a reminder in case you're reading this to have some brews on hand for a vegetarian or vegan friend. Vegans can't have honey, in addition to any animal ingredients or by-products. Vegetarians can eat honey, and animal by-products like cheese, milk, and eggs. Both gelatin and isinglass are NOT vegetarian or vegan friendly. So, if you see any beers with honey that aren't filtered, your vegetarian friends can have it, but your vegan friends can't.
I don't know much about beers in general. But, I reached out to some major companies to get some current info on some popular beers. I know that you can find a lot of this info online, but it's not exactly current. I like to be up to date on everything. Just because something was vegan doesn't mean that it can't change for one reason or another ya know?
The first company I reached out to was Blie Moon. They were one of the brands I saw to be vegan before, so I had hoped they still would be. Here's the email I sent on the bottom and their response on the top:
Verdict: Blue Moon is vegan! Please be mindful, which they didn't put in the email for some reason, that they have a few beers that contain honey. The Summer Honey Wheat is one of them. If you go to the Miller Coors website, you can actually check the ingredients in each of their beers. Always check the ingredients first!
Next, I reached out to Sam Addams. I know they're one of the most popular beers with a wide variety, so I figured they would be a good company to contact.
Verdict: Sam Addams is vegan! Like with Blue Moon, they do have two beers that contain honey. These are Cherry Wheat and Honey Queen. I'm not sure why Honey Queen wasn't mentioned in the email when Cherry Wheat was. I thought perhaps it was because the name Honey Queen was so apparent that honey was an ingredient given the name, but Cherry Wheat wouldn't give it away that honey was an ingredient.
I was impressed that they responded to me on Instagram, since they were the only ones to do so. I commented on everyone's Instagram asking, and they got back to me, which I thought was pretty cool.
Lastly, I reached out to the Traveler Beer Company. This one actually came as a recommendation from a coworker who said that their Lemon Shandy and Grapefruit Shandy were really good.
Verdict: Traveler Beeris vegan! With the obvious exception noted above. I was actually really surprised by this because I know often times Shandy's contain honey to make them sweeter. Good to know that not all of them do!
That's all for now! I plan on reaching out to more companies and finding out some more vegan beer for you to enjoy! I know there are a lot of small craft beer companies that are vegan, but there's none by me. So, I'm only contacting the major companies considering they're the ones that are the easiest to access.